The nominees for the South African Music Awards were announced earlier this week, in preparation for the ceremony coming up on the 31st of July. We have gathered here our favourite candidates from this season’s ceremony: 

Album of the Year

  • Ghetto King – Zakes Bantwini

Duo or Group of the Year

  • Ama Roto Vol.2 – Reece Madlisa and Zuma 

Female Artist of the Year

  • ‘Platinumb Heart Open’ – Msaki

Male Artist of the Year

  • ‘African Electronic Dance Music’ – Sun-El Musician

White Star Newcomer of the Year

  • Thapelo Lekoane – ‘Tapestry’

Best Pop Album

  • Souvenirs – Jeremy Loops

Best Alternative Music Album

  • Glow – Alice Phoebe Lou

Best Collaboration

  • ‘Imali’ – Karyendasoul and Zakes Bantwini ft. Nana Atta

Best Amapiano Album

  • Nkulunkulu – Kamo Mphela

Record of the Year

  • ‘Osama’ – Zakes Bantwini and Kasango

If you did not know by now, one of our preferred contenderes, Zakes Bantwini leads the nominees list for #SAMA28 with a total of seven nominations; including Album of the Year, Best Dance Album and Best Engineered Album awards for his 2021 album Ghetto King released WW Ex Africa by Paradise Sound System.

Congratulations to all nominees & good luck from the ARMC team!